Young Adult Lit/Crit

May 10, 2008

Enter Three Witches

Filed under: Lit Circle Picks — katefrazer @ 10:21 am

I read Enter Three Witchesby Caroline Cooney for a lit circle.  The novel tells the story of Macbeth from several different perspectives.  The most frequent perspective is that of Mary, the teenage daughter of the Thane of Cawdor, who is hanged as a traitor in the beginning of the novel.  I really enjoyed reading this novel.  I had it at school a few days, and a few of my students also commented on what a great book they thought it was too. 

As Mandy mentioned on Wednesday night, this book really gave me a better understanding of the play.  I read Macbeth in high school and I didn’t love or hate it.  However, now that I have read all these stories surrounding the events Shakespeare writes about, I kind of want to reread the play.  The characters, specifically Lady Macbeth seemed more real in Enter Three Witches and more even more evil.  If I taught Macbeth in my classroom, I would definitely want to include this novel in any work I did.  I think it would also be interesting to take both of these works and some nonficiton pieces on the time period to evaluate the historical accuracy of the overall story. 

This is definitely a book that I’m going to recommend to my students!
Kate

1 Comment »

  1. Although I enjoyed MacBeth in high school, I think this text would be a great supplemental material to do in concurrence with the play. I fear far too many kids simply look up the plot summary of plays or watch the movie version, rather than actually read them. By using other texts that still revolve around the central topic/theme/text, kids are more likely to get interested and involved, especially when it comes to Shakespeare, who I know is imtimidating for adolescents.

    One of the most important benefits of using this text is that unlike MacBeth, ETW is basically narrated by Lady Mary, a young teenage girl who is observing the events around her. Since she is so young, there is a much greater chance that teen readers will relate to this text. Also, since the audience has to rely on solely the characters for all of the essential information in the play, the book is extremely beneficial in that it is much more detailed. I had an enhanced understanding of how MacBeth rose to power and some of the history behind King Duncan, which is obviously one of the most important elements in the play, but which is also a detail that sometimes gets confusing while reading or viewing the play.

    In all, I really enjoyed this book. It was a simple read, especially in comparison to much of Shakespeare’s works. And if I found it easier to follow the plot, I imagine this text would be a tremendous help to teen readers, perhaps even serving as a way to initiate their interest in Shakespeare… !

    -Mandy

    Comment by mandygrl101 — May 14, 2008 @ 4:10 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

