Young Adult Lit/Crit

May 7, 2008

Kate’s Mysterious Seminar

Filed under: seminar feedback — kariredmond @ 12:32 pm

After attending Kate’s seminar on Mystery YA Novels, with a specific focus on novels for boys, I have really been itching to read a good mystery! On my next stop to B&N I plan on picking up Rat Life for my summer reading “pile” since she did such a great job of selling that book to me… Specifically she discussed how important it was that mysteries weren’t so cookie cutter that it lost the students’ interests (i.e. hardy boys or nancy drew-my personal fave).  She recognizes that her students have intellectual lives and wanted to persue their interests in mystery by providing them with novels of true value, not just standard everyday crap.  Her own passion for the genre of mystery made her a perfect seminar facilator on this subject, and if she grabbed her students’ interest as much as she did mine I am certain each kid in her classroom is reading a mystery novel at this very moment.  In addition to a rich discussion on the genre of mystery and what is offered to kids, she provided us with several very useful activities that I would enjoy utilizing when I have my own classroom. My personal favorite activity was a hands-on one that involved giving students bags with random “clues” and having them write and develop a mystery to go along with these items.  This seems like a great way to get reluctant students involved with a fun, exciting activity and have them completing writing assignments with merit at the same time.

Thanks Kate for a great seminar!

~Kari

1 Comment »

  1. Kari,
    Thank you for the feedback. I’m glad you were a part of my seminar. I’m so pleased that you are planning to read RAT LIFE. I really think it was my favorite book of the semester.
    Kate

    Comment by katefrazer — May 9, 2008 @ 5:02 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

