Young Adult Lit/Crit

April 29, 2008

TTYL

Filed under: Look What I'm Reading for Book Club! — kariredmond @ 10:31 pm

Last week for bookclub I shared a book that I had just started called TTYL by Lauren Myracle.  It is basically a novel that is entirely written by way of Instant messaging conversations.  There are three best friends that are starting their sophmore year of high school with all of the basic concerns of teenage girls.  Their priorities and worries include frienship, boys, a group of snobby/bullying girls, and parents.  This is a very easy read, there is some sexual reference and content but I don’t see why a HS freshman couldn’t read this novel.  It seems to touch on several issues that teens can relate to, as well as having an interesting dynamic of innapropriate behavior between a student and her teacher. 

This is definately not a book I would normally pick up, but lately I have been reading a ton of heavy novels for teens and this seemed like a good way to break my current mold. Also, as Joyce and I discussed, we have been noticing it’s bright pink cover and smilies (GREAT marketing technique to entice teen girls) every time we pass by the “Whats good for teens” table at B&N and it just jumps off of the shelf. 

In addition, it was recommended to me by a 15-year-old girl at my riding stables that I converse with frequently about YA lit. She told me she had read it and enjoyed it, and also encouraged me to purchase a novel called Perfect which I now own but know nothing about. Mary also let me borrow the movie for Speak so if I can get to it at some point I will let you know how that is!

~Kari

1 Comment »

  1. Kari,
    Lots of my kids have read TTYL, and I also think about how I should read it, but the idea of an entire book in IM speak kind of turns me off. However, from what you wrote it sounds as though it does discuss some issue and is worth reading. Thanks for giving your thoughts!
    Kate

    Comment by katefrazer — April 30, 2008 @ 10:30 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

