Young Adult Lit/Crit

April 21, 2008

Perks of Being a Wallflower

Filed under: Look What I'm Reading for Book Club! — kariredmond @ 7:16 pm

Like Sarah (who is, btw, kicking all of our asses in blogging this week- you go girl) I also read Perks and really really enjoyed it! I seriously need to find something different, however, because all I have read recently has been in the “heavy” category.  Heaviness aside, I fell in love with Charlie and his quirkiness, his dorkdom, and his constant questioning of the unknown.  I also really enjoyed the 90’s references but wonder if those would turn off a younger reader? Like Sarah mentioned there is a plethora of worthy discussion topics in this novel, and one I was particularly interested in was the topic of teen homosexuality.  Besides, Luna, I haven’t read any of the teen sexuality novels and really thought that the portrayal of homosexuality in this novel seemed realistic and tasteful.

~Kari

2 Comments »

  1. Kari,

    I agree with you about the portrayal of homosexuality. I liked that Chbosky included both closeted and openly gay characters, and developed them realistically. Also, I think he showed that heartbreak is universal.

    Interesting point about the 90s references. I think they might inspire kids who feel a connection with Charlie to investigate some of the music included on the mix tapes Charlie makes. Who wouldn’t want to hear a song that combined with the right people, the right time and place might make you feel “infinite” (Charlie’s word)?

    I felt like this myself every time Bill (Charlie’s English teacher) gave Charlie a new book. I have heard of the books Charlie read, but I haven’t read them all. This book made me want to read them – especially Ayn Rand’s The Fountainhead.

    -Sarah

    Comment by sostrom — April 22, 2008 @ 9:55 am

  2. LOVE love love THE FOUNTAINHEAD, read it when I was in high school. This book I bought at the Salvo for 75cents and it made me 75 million times smarter. It totally sparked an interest in architecture, which eventually lead me to discover Frank Lloyd Wright. http://www.delmars.com/wright/flwright.htm

    Additionally, this was the first book I’d ever read with a red-haired protagonist. (My mom has red hair, and if she were in a book- she’d be the subject, no doubt.) It might seem like a small thing, but it wasn’t. Red-heads are ususally supporting characters. (Until Lindsay Lohan, I guess.) (*groan*)

    READ this book, all of you. Ayn Rand was a fantastic writer.

    Joyce

    Comment by Joyce — April 22, 2008 @ 11:25 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

