Young Adult Lit/Crit

April 19, 2008

Each Little Bird…and More on Twilight

Filed under: Look What I'm Reading for Book Club! — katefrazer @ 10:08 am

I have read Each Little Bird that Singsby Deborah Wiles for book club this week.  The book focused on many common issues young adults face, such as issues with friends and younger family members and the loss of people you love.  However, the context in which all of this happened was rather unique.  It is narrated by 10 year-old Comfort Snowberger, who lives and works with her family at the funeral home they run.  Obviously the book tackled issues with death, showing both the emotional side and a little humor as well.  This book was recommended to me by a student last year, and I’m glad she did.  Comfort was a likable narrator, both fiesty and funny!

I also finished the three books that are currently out in Twilight series this weekend.  The second and third books are New Moon and Eclipse.  I definitely enjoyed Eclipse more than New Moon, but they were both great and very addicting.  I don’t want to give anything away about them, as they all build upon the previous novel.  I would recommend them.  I know a few of my students will be asking me if I finished them when we get back from break, and I am excited to have that discussion!

1 Comment »

  1. Kate, I didn’t know the Wiles’ book so I did some investigating to post more information. I see that it was a National Book Award finalist in ’05 as well as a winner of a number of other recognitions/prizes. Lovely interview with Wiles at the Harcourt site. Thanks for bringing this novel to our attention.

    And how nice that you’re ready for the next “Twilight” installment!! KES

    Comment by sunyprof — April 19, 2008 @ 12:47 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

