Young Adult Lit/Crit

April 15, 2008

The Sweet Far Thing was sweet indeed!

Filed under: Look What I'm Reading for Book Club! — Mandy @ 9:44 pm

I finally finished Libba Bray’s trilogy this week! I began A Great and Terrible Beauty last fall, read Rebel Angels a few months ago, and just completed The Sweet Far Thing. I know I must not be the only person loving this series, because it took me over a month to get my hands on the library’s edition of ASFT. As when I read Harry Potter, I got very attached to the characters in this series as well. When I read series, I become very invested in the success and survival of the characters. I also decided that these books are like a more feminine version of Lord of the Rings…if that makes sense. Like Frodo, there is Gemma, the main character, who possesses special powers and there are also two worlds, battling for power, etc. Further, there is humor, saddness, historical information, fantasy, love, drugs, sexism, homosexuality, death, sacrifice.. far too many interesting characteristics in these texts to list. Because it incorporates so many genres and themes, I truly believe it can appeal to a huge audience, and not just teens either. This series will not disapoint.

-Mandy

PS: Allison: How is the first book going? You have to read the series. I want to know what someone else thinks!

2 Comments »

  1. Hi Mandy, so glad you finished the trilogy! An accomplishment to be sure. Glad your next book is ALASKA. Let us know what you think. You can surely apply your feminist lens to “Alaska,” the young woman. KES

    Comment by sunyprof — April 16, 2008 @ 9:48 am

  2. Hey Mandy,

    So glad you enjoyed the books so much! Isn’t it satisfying to find a series that you love?

    I’m actually contemplating taking a break from A Great and Terrible Beauty. I really wanted to read it, and it is good, but its slow-going. This semester I have been racing through books, but this one has not really captured me. It seems interesting- I can see why people read them. There is the mystery of two worlds, a past conflict discovered by the young girls though a diary, and mysterious visions. There are also strange peasants and typical school-age drama.

    I feel like I SHOULD keep reading though. My mom, who works at the Lafayette library, says that the books from this series are always out. I have also noticed copies floating around the schools where I sub and a girl at Corcoran told me she loved the series.

    To keep reading or not? I’m not sure yet! Has anyone else tried this series?

    Allison

    Comment by allison — April 16, 2008 @ 1:21 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

