Young Adult Lit/Crit

April 3, 2008

The Language of Blogging

Filed under: Uncategorized — jexter1 @ 11:11 am

After reading the article that Karen e-mailed us (“Webblogs and literary response. . .”), I see the freedoms that blogging offers students. This is a great way to engage struggling or reserved/shy students. Many kids experiences anxiety and fear when it comes to volunteering an answer or asking a question during class. Especially at the adolescent stage, teenagers feel pressure to not only look cool, but sound cool, as well.

I find it especially interesting and useful when West discusses the vernacular that blogging is written in. Each student writes based on his/her “social identity.” Rather than correcting, criticizing and punishing students for slag, acronyms (e.g. wtf = what the f*ck), and the application of the digital language in their blogs, West allows the students to speak from their hearts. I, for one, feel more comfortable blogging. There is a level of autonomy reached while blogging that is difficult to achieve during brief class discussions.

Acceptance goes a long way, as one can see in West’s anecdotal discussion of English class blogs.

~Jessica

2 Comments »

  1. Jess,

    I feel ya. It was so compelling when West used analytical language to describe what phrases like “illest diva” meant, and used these examples to construct autonomy. It was so exciting to me to see her critically reasoning how Evan was writing as a “Tempered rebel” rather than considering him a subversive student, incapable of serious contemplation.

    Taking a step back, it totally makes sense to work with these blogs as artifactual evidence of projected identities to be mined from popular lingo. Rather than oppress the language of pop now, in favor of a literary style that is stuffy and overly formal, we may use these new vocabbies as rearticulations within present meanings.

    Slammin article. Fresh as Febreeze.

    Joyce

    Comment by Joyce — April 3, 2008 @ 12:20 pm

  2. Jess: I definitely agree with your post, especially the part about acceptance. I know when I was an undergrad, I was very shy in many of my class, and often would hold back my ideas and opinions. When I took an online class, which I think is akin to blogging in a sense, I was able to express my ideas in an environment that felt much safer. This helped me greatly in gaining the confidence I needed to be able to interact with my peers.

    Mandy

    Comment by mandygrl101 — April 4, 2008 @ 2:21 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

