Young Adult Lit/Crit

March 26, 2008

451-Last Book

Filed under: Dystopian Fiction — jwill7 @ 6:48 pm

Fun stuff this week, don’tcha think.  What do people make of the common thread between Last Book and 451F?  I thought Philbrick’s was vivid and original in its exposition.  I also thought it was topical for 2002 with the cloning concepts.  This idea also manifests itself in the Aldous Huxley inspired film The Island in which the rich have a clone of themselves created for the sake of spare parts.  Would that be nice?  I wouldn’t mind extra ankles for basketball purposes, but what about the extra emotions?  I don’t always enjoy the standard ones.  Philip K. Dick spoke to this concept in his novel Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep.  You may know it as the 1982 film Bladerunner with Harrison Ford.  Bottom line is “If it walks like a duck…”.  Philbrick sorta lets everything happen around his Spaz-boy protagonist in the climatic portion of the book.  The ending rings clearly of Bradbury.  Keep the faith. –Josh

2 Comments »

  1. Last book: I read this one first. I don’t know if that says something about how worried I was that it would disappear. 🙂

    I really liked the new language/gloss in the back. That always makes a futuristic book seem more realistic to me. In particular, “cut your red” just rang out to me. I knew exactly what it meant, and I also worried that the word for blood had been forgotten.

    Of the three books, this one was chronologically (in my opinion) the last one in the progression. First, IMO, 451 happens in our pretty close to present day when people stop reading of their own accord. Then in a few years, FEED. Then, after all the resources are completely depleted, all the professor/fathers have died out, and all that remains is illiteracy, anarchy, and chaos, and the LAST BOOK.

    That was a very strange timeline that really doesn’t make any sense, but somehow when I thought of it, I thought that it did.

    The other thing I liked about LAST BOOK was the fact that the people from Eden’s landscape architecture. Killer ideas there.

    Looking forward to disussing.
    Joyce

    Comment by joycehansen — March 26, 2008 @ 8:27 pm

  2. I agree with you about the timeline of the 3 reads for this week. I read Last Book last, and as bleak and ugly as I thought the world in Feed was, it was worse in Last Book! Besides the earth’s resources, relationships seemed less prominent in Last Book than in Feed. At least Titus had friends and a family unit, but poor Spaz had no parents (even his adoptive ones kicked him out!) and no friends until he partners up with Ryter. I had never read 451 before and really enjoyed it. I’m looking forward to discussion on that one in particular, especially if others had previously read it: what they thought of it a 2nd time around, etc.
    Erica

    Comment by ebrazee — March 26, 2008 @ 10:20 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

