Young Adult Lit/Crit

March 19, 2008

Johnson/Freedman

Filed under: Critical Literacy--Johnson/Freedman — Joyce @ 9:53 pm

Just wanted to mention a few things about the J/F that stuck out to me.

 Oppression in discourse: how incredibly pertinent I found this. It was like reading something that was written FOR me. I’ve been struggling with finding my “conversational tone” in discussion, and I now have a language to express my issues.

“Sometimes, students talk in ways that intimidate their peers,” says Reeves, and I think it’s important that she says the students, “are not thinking of oppressing others through their mannerisms” (138-9). Positively on the mark. Oppression isn’t always intentional. 

Another portion of the reading mentioned how:

[S]tudents may realize that they also make erroneous assumptions about others and appear oppressive because of their lack of knowledge and their unexamined behaviors. (Reeves, 123)

Thoughtful moments. I can easily connect this to LUNA, for those who read it. Sarah mentioned that Regan is perceived as a snob, when she sees herself as an outcast. Same world, worlds apart.

I liked this chapter better than the one on identity (though I liked that one also) because it hit me at home. Made the Match.

Joyce 

1 Comment »

  1. Useful list of questions to get at critique at the end of this chapter…we’ll use them tomorrow in lit circle discussions. KES

    Comment by sunyprof — March 19, 2008 @ 11:02 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

