Young Adult Lit/Crit

March 18, 2008

How do we help?

Filed under: Observations of Reading in Schools — allison @ 9:12 pm

Hi All,I wanted to share an interesting experience from substituting teaching. The school I went to has an extra period at the end of their day commonly called simply 9th period. It gives struggling students time to work on homework or get extra help. Good in theory? 9th period has a stigma associated with it, because those who are required to stay are students who are failing one or more classes. It makes it makes it public that the kids are struggling, and i noticed some defensiveness amongst the students thoughout the day. Some of the teachers said that the system needs to be modified.When I went to 9th period, I noticed a general reluctance to do any work. One of the uplifting things I noticed, though, were that some of the students who actually DID do ANYTHING were reading. I made it a point to talk to reach student who was reading. They told me about their books, and for the most part they had positive things to say. Why? Because they were able to choose the books themselves- the books were not part of a whole-class method. I applaud their English teacher.This program seems to be attempting a pro-active approach to helping kids, but some changes could be made. I guess I was just wondering if anyone else has seen this kind of program. Is reaction to it the same across the board? Has anyone seen anything similar or different?Thoughts?Allison

2 Comments »

  1. Allison, what are the kids reading? What browser are you using to post? You are able to paragraph and to link??? KES

    Comment by sunyprof — March 18, 2008 @ 10:02 pm

  2. Karen,
    Looks like the paragraphs still are not working
    I can’t remember all of the titles but Shrimp and Gingerbread by Rachel Cohn stuck in my head. Maybe she’s an author I should check out. http://www.rachelcohn.com/gingerbread.html
    One girl was telling me she LOVED a book about a teen who gets pregnant and has to live on her own. Although I couldn’t remember the title, what stuck in my head was the issue. This sounded like a SERIOUS book. It makes me think of our numerous conversations about teens reading books about complex issues. They want to read about these issues at this age. Shouldn’t we be encouraging them to do so? Especially if the books will help them to become informed? I hope others will share their thoughts on this!

    Allison

    Comment by allison — March 19, 2008 @ 4:00 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

