Young Adult Lit/Crit

March 7, 2008

Inspirational

Filed under: Uncategorized — scrollman @ 2:07 pm

Not to sound overly dramatic, but events like yesterday’s conference and dinner with Chris Crutcher give me hope that a small group of commited individuals can change the world (as Margaret Meade once said).  I was so impressed by the group of people assembled in that room: their intelligence, their passion, their courage, and their commitment to teaching.  It made me realize that no matter how backward and oppressive our society can appear at times, there are always people willing to stand up against intolerance, and inspire the rest of us to speak out for what we believe in.   Fear sometimes comes from the idea that if we take a risk, nobody else will follow suit.  Yesterday showed us all that there is an enormous amount of support for the type of pedagogy that we believe to be best for our students.  This makes me feel infinitely better as I try to stretch the limits in my own classroom.

Jonathan

1 Comment »

  1. Jonathan,

    that was incredibly well-put. I couldn’t agree with you more. My initial response was shock (I know-am I blind?) that we live in such a conservative area, and such a conservative time. But, as the panel progressed I began to feel such a strong support system, and saw such a passionate desire to keep trying to push important books through censors. Knowing that I have all of you in our Lit class makes me feel even better–> I won’t be out there asking for a class set of a relevant, if “offensive,” text all by myself.

    Joyce

    Comment by joycehansen — March 7, 2008 @ 8:55 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

