Young Adult Lit/Crit

February 20, 2008

White Darkness

Filed under: Look What I'm Reading for Book Club! — Mandy @ 2:55 pm

Since this title won a huge award this year, I had to check it out. I had already committed to a different lit circle when this title was being offered, but I am now reading it for my book club selection this week. I am not very far into the text, but already my mind is full of questions. After the first chapter, I liked Uncle Victor for how hilariously he described the education system. At the same time, I felt sorry for Sym, who was mocked for her imagination, deaf and without a father. After chapter two, I started to question Uncle Victor’s motives and his relationship with Sym and her mom. Something doesn’t seem quite right. Plus, the hiding of Lillian’s passport has not been resolved yet either. However, I am most intrigued by Sym’s relationship to Titus and I don’t know what to make of it at this point, other than she is lonely… But I am able to make some predictions about the rest of the book. I have a feeling that Titus and his experience in the poles is going to save Sym’s life when she travels there with her Uncle…For now, it’s back to reading for me!

-Mandy

1 Comment »

  1. Mandy,
    Isn’t it an intriguing novel? When I read it I also became quickly skeptical of Uncle Victor-you can tell right away that something is odd with him. Why would he need to steal Lillian’s passport? I’m anxious to hear what you think as you continue reading.
    Kate

    Comment by katefrazer — February 20, 2008 @ 3:46 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

