Young Adult Lit/Crit

February 19, 2008

Who Am I Without Him?

Filed under: Myers/Flake and the YA Short Story — ebrazee @ 6:37 pm

I finished 1 of the 2 books for our Lit Circle this week, and enjoyed all of the stories in it.  Judging from the title, I would’ve thought all the shorts had female narrators, but that was not the case.  It was interesting to see the role of girls in relationships from the guy teens’ perspectives, and 1 short is even written from a father’s point of view.  Flake is convincing coming from teenage girls p.o.v. as well as teenage boys, and a grown man.  The dialogue was fitting for each narrator, too.

The fact that there are male as well as female narrators would make this book appealing to either gender in classes. The stories offer teens’ views on relationships, sex, race, economic class and pregnancy. As with any collection of short stories, this was a quick read, and the reader will never feel like they’re waiting for the action/story line to pick up.

Erica

2 Comments »

  1. Erica,
    After the first few stories, I also thought that all of the narrators were going to be females, but I was pleasantly surprised when they weren’t. I agree that Myers writes convincing boys and girls, and even fathers. I really enjoyed John Carroll’s voice. He seemed so wise and helpful, yet realistic all the while. Did other people feel the same way, or did you see him as unrealistic? I loved “The Real Deal” and how John Carroll proves his point about guns by bringing Calvin to jail. Again I saw this as a wise and all knowing move on John Carroll’s part. Do you think this particular incident is realistic or a little far-fetched?

    From what I have read from Flake so far, I am seeing some very different narrators which I plan to post on when I’m finished with the book. I think we will definitely have some comparing to do in class on Thursday!
    Kate

    Comment by katefrazer — February 19, 2008 @ 10:22 pm

  2. So, I just realized I was talking about What They Found: Love on 145th Street, and you were talking about Who am I Without Him? So, I will be excited to read further into Flake and get into stories that are told from both male and adult perspectives. From the title and the comment on the front of the book I was expecting all female stories, but I will be pleased to read other perspectives just like in Myers! Sorry for the mix up!
    Kate

    Comment by katefrazer — February 19, 2008 @ 10:27 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

