Young Adult Lit/Crit

February 13, 2008

My response to Feathers

Filed under: "Feathers" — kariredmond @ 11:22 pm

I was honestly disapointed in this novel for some reason. Perhaps it was because I was coming right off of finishing Tyrell and I really enjoyed that read, but I had a hard time finding the narrative credible.  Although it was a work of fiction, I had a hard time with a lot of the description used in the novel.  If the narrator is supposed to be in 6th grade, are we really expected to relate to the imagery and almost poetic description that she carries on throughout the story? I felt like some of it was over the top and really took away from the story itself, which was good. I did like the plot and storyline but felt distracted by some of the “outside” stimulus presented. 

That being said, it was an easy read and did have a solid moral to the story about differences and the way that we treat others.  Also, the aspect of hope was well played with the impending birth of a new baby brother or sister as well as the hope that Sean had to enter into the world of the hearing.  I could see it’s place in a classroom, but I have definately read better (this week!).

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

