Young Adult Lit/Crit

February 4, 2008

Of interest from Richie Partington Richie’s Picks

Filed under: from your prof — sunyprof @ 3:22 pm

Middle School librarian, par excellence, and Californian, Richie Partington, maintains an amazing site for teens to post their best books for YA’s. Do check it out. His active MySpace page is a great resource for us as well.

I am also sharing an email from the middle school YA lit listserv he moderates with his response to a question posed by a student who’s also taking YA Lit someplace!! Wish I knew where. In this post you’ll learn about the “lifetime achievement in YA Lit,” Margaret A. Edwards Award, which was won this year by Orson Scott Card (ENDER’S GAME).

Student’s Post: I was hoping someone could recommend their top 4-5 authors of teen lit. This is my first YA course and I’m feeling a little overwhelmed with book lists and collection titles with authors I don’t know much about.
.
From Richie: Well, that is difficult! I want to skip those who already have won the Margaret A. Edwards Award (My favorites from that list would be Crutcher, Paulsen, Myers, and Voigt)http://www.ala.org/ala/yalsa/booklistsawards/margaretaedwards/margaretedwards.cfm
and, instead, list half a dozen I hope to someday see win the Edwards.

Those would include:

Benjamin Alire Saenz. for SAMMY AND JULIANA IN HOLLYWOOD and HE FORGOT TO SAY GOODBYE..
Laurie Halse Anderson. SPEAK, by itself, merits her inclusion.
Gary D. Schmidt. LIZZIE BRIGHT AND THE BUCKMINSTER BOY, THE WEDNESDAY WARS, and TROUBLE put him right up there with my favorite all-timers.
Ellen Wittlinger for HARD LOVE and RAZZLE.
K.L. Going for FAT KID RULES THE WORLD and SAINT IGGY.
Mildred Taylor. While she is usually thought of as a children’s author, THE LAND is definitely among my top ten all-time favorite books in the world and it is as much YA as children’s.

KES

2 Comments »

  1. Thanks for the link Karen. I just checked out the site and it seems like an amazing resource. I’m always so impressed by how intelligent, insightful, and mature students can be when given the opportunity.

    Jonathan

    Comment by scrollman — February 4, 2008 @ 7:33 pm

  2. Hinton- I enjoyed Rumble Fish and That Was Then… more than The Outsiders.
    Cormier- I prefer The Chocolate War to Catcher in the Rye, call me crazy if you haven’t already.
    Miller- Frank Miller is the best in the graphic novel biz.
    Steinbeck- No better writer for MY money.
    Shakespeare- With his perpetual connection to the world of entertainment I’m glad I got hip to Bill early.
    These were the authors I found most influential at the YA stage in my reading life. Perhaps we can have a discussion about the various awards sometime.

    Josh

    Comment by jwill7 — February 4, 2008 @ 10:16 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

